Sunan Ibn Majah

September 17, 2021 0 Comments

Sunan Ibn Mazah Full Volumes

Sunan Ibn Majah (Arabic: سُنن ابن ماجه‎) is one of the six major Sunni hadith collections (Kutub al-Sittah). The Sunan was authored by Ibn Mājah (b. 209/824, d. 273/887).
It contains over 4,000 aḥādīth in 32 books (kutub) divided into 1,500 chapters (abwāb). About 20 of the traditions it contains were later declared to be forged; such as those dealing with the merits of individuals, tribes or towns, including Ibn Mājah’s home town of Qazwin.
Sunnis regard this collection as sixth in terms of authenticity of their Six major Hadith collections.Although Ibn Mājah related hadith from scholars across the eastern Islamic world, neither he nor his Sunan were well known outside of his native region of northwestern Iran until the 5th/11th century.Muḥammad ibn Ṭāhir al-Maqdisī (d. 507/1113) remarked that while Ibn Mājah’s Sunan was well regarded in Rayy, it was not widely known among the broader community of Muslim jurists outside of Iran. It was also Muḥammad b. Ṭāhir who first proposed a six-book canon of the most authentic Sunni hadith collections in his Shurūṭ al-aʾimma al-sitta, which included Ibn Mājah’s Sunan alongside Sahih Bukhari, Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, Sunan Nasai, and Jami al-Tirmidhi. Nonetheless, consensus among Sunni scholars concerning this six-book canon, which included Ibn Mājah’s Sunan, did not occur until the 7th/13th century, and even then this consensus was largely contained to the Sunni scholarly community in the eastern Islamic world.[4] Scholars such as al-Nawawi (d. 676/1277) and Ibn Khaldun (d. 808/1405) excluded Sunan Ibn Mājah from their lists of canonical Sunni hadith collections, while others replaced it with either the Muwaṭṭaʾ of Imām Mālik or with the Sunan ad-Dārimī. It was not until Ibn al-Qaisarani’s formal standardization of the Sunni hadith cannon into six books in the 11th century that Ibn Majah’s collection was regarded as the esteem granted to the five other books.
The Quran also romanized Qur’an or Koran,is the central religious text of Islam, believed by Muslims to be a revelation from God.It is widely regarded as the finest work in classical Arabic literature.It is organized in 114 chapters, which consist of verses.Muslims believe that the Quran was orally revealed by God to the final prophet, Muhammad, through the archangel Gabriel (Jibril), incrementally over a period of some 23 years.
Hadith literally means talk or discourse or Athar in Islam refers to what Muslims believe to be a record of the words, actions, and the silent approval of the Islamic prophet Muhammad. Hadith have been called the backbone of Islamic civilisation, and within that religion the authority of Hadith as a source for religious law and moral guidance ranks second only to that of the Quran (which Muslims hold to be the word of Allah revealed to his messenger Muhammad).

Download Android apps from Play store

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *